Behind Closed Doors

If you live in a condominium like I do, every available nook and cranny counts! So if you are looking for ways to maximize space, one area of the kitchen that is under-utilized but can be taken full advantage of is the back of your cabinets.

I bought an over-the-door towel rack from Make Room.  This is perfect for me because one, I don’t like punching too many holes on anything, and two, I don’t like exposing my rags so this keeps them nicely hidden from public view.

 

I also bought a few over-the-door hooks from the same store, which I use for my oven glove and mitt. Again, this system keeps my things out of sight and it maximizes the space inside my kitchen cabinet.

 

At Howards Storage World, I found 2 kinds of units to keep used plastic bags in.  The first one is this white plastic dispenser that has suction cups at the back which keeps the thing attached to my kitchen cabinet.  When it gets too heavy though, the suction cups aren’t able to hold the unit up for too long.  There is an option though to replace the suction cups with screws since there are open holes at the back.

 

The second is this stainless steel dispenser.  When buying over-the-door units, always make sure that the hooks that will hang off your cabinet are padded because you don’t want to leave ugly marks on the cabinet once you remove them or replace them with something else.

 

Another way to maximize the back of kitchen cabinets is to get some Command Hooks from National Book Store which can be used to store smaller pans, measuring cups and spoons. Using this system, you don’t have to rummage through drawers when cooking or baking.  Now, don’t worry about the adhesives ruining your cabinet.  If you follow the instructions on the pack on how to remove the hooks, your cabinet finish will stay as is.

 

The same Command Hooks can also be used to store the lids of your pots, which you must agree, really takes up a lot of space!

By making use of all the precious space available, you and your kitchen can work wonders!

Stay organized and happy!

 

Leave a Reply

