BE TICKLER FOR TIME

Many of us have this for our new year’s resolution: “This year I promise to be more efficient with my time”.  Well as most of us know, this is easier said than done!  Time management can be gruelling for working parents!  So here’s how to organize yourself so that maybe, just maybe, we will be able to achieve this particular resolution THIS year.

1. PLAN FOR YOUR PLANNER

Decide on which planner suits you best.  I personally like using the digital calendar that came with my phone for future events and birthday reminders.  I categorize events into work related or personal.  I also like this because I can easily search for daily, weekly, monthly and yearly plans this way.

 

image

 

iclarified.com

But I also own an old school planner which I use to jot down all the activities and events that happened during the day.  This way I can easily remember which day I was able to finish a project, was absent at work, or had my last dental check-up.  I even paste pictures of past events just to remind myself what happened that day.

 

image

 

 

2. CREATE WEEKLY-TO-DO LISTS VERSUS DAILY ONES

Instead of daily to-do-lists, try making a weekly one instead then divide them into 1/ Personal, 2/ Work, 3/ Family or you can add your own categories if you like.  The point here is to divide the tasks by category and that way you can prioritize.  Family and personal health for me always comes first and during work time, I only focus on work tasks.

 

image

 

I try to train my daughter as early as now by letting her have her own cute to-do list and letting her put check marks or stickers on chores she was able to do.  I am also trying to potty train her this way.

 

image

 

thegrantlife.com

3. DELETE OR CHECK

Once a task is done, I suggest you delete it (if digital) or check it off.  This way, the clutter on your to-do list is minimized on a daily basis and you won’t feel as stressed when looking at your task list.

Leave a Reply

